Beer Festivals in Essex (and Tap Takeovers)

NORMAL SERVICE WILL BE RESUMED ONCE WE’RE OUT THE OTHER SIDE OF THE CORONAVIRUS

This page is continuously updated.

If you are looking for an Essex beer festival, you’ve come to the right place. This is a list of beer festivals in Essex both major CAMRA beer festivals and those held in pubs. Tap takeovers and the like are also covered.

If you know of a festival that you think should feature here, email me (essexrealale@gmail.com) or contact me via Twitter or Facebook.




March

Redchurch Brewery Tap Takeover
The Moulsham Tap, 53-54 Moulsham Street, Chelmsford.
Friday 13th March 2020 until all gone!
11 Beers on tap, meet the brewer (Sat at 4pm) and competitions. In support of ‘Support 4 Sight Charity’.
more details

Spring Beer Festival
Billericay Brewing Co.
Thursday 19th March 2020 to Sunday 22nd March 2020
20+ real ales and ciders. *** NOW A TAKEWAY ONLY BEER FESTIVAL ***

*** POSTPONED *** Verdant Tap Takeover *** POSTPONED ***
West Road Tap, 2 West Road, Southend SS0 9DA
Friday 27th March 2020 to Sunday 29th March 2020
more details

April

Easter Beer Festival
The Woolpack, Chelmsford
Thursday 9th April 2020 to Sunday 12th April 2020
Much reduced in terms of numbers of beers, and no live music.
more details

*** CANCELLED *** Beer and Chicken Festival *** CANCELLED ***
The Queen’s Head, Boreham
Thursday 9th April 2020 to Monday 13th April 2020

*** CANCELLED *** Easter Beer Festival *** CANCELLED ***
Mersea Brewery, East Mersea
BH Friday 10th April 2020 to BH Monday 13th April 2020

*** CANCELLED *** Maldon Beer and Cider Festival*** CANCELLED ***
Plume School, Maldon
Wednesday 15th April 2020 to Saturday 18th April 2020

Harwich Ale Trail
Various locations
Thursday 30th April 2020 to BH Monday 4th May 2020
The 5th event, this year coincides with the Mayflower 400 celebrations. Lots of pubs with a beer list to rule them all.

May

75th VE Day Celebration Real Ale & Cider Festival
Donkey And Buskins, Layer Road, Colchester CO2 0HU
Thursday 7th May 2020 to Sunday 10th May 2020
Real Ale & Cider Festival in Celebration of the 75th Victory in Europe Day (WW II). Celebrate over the early May Day Bank Holiday.
more details

Neon Raptor Tap Takeover
Victoria Inn, 10 North Station Road Colchester CO1 1RB
Thursday, 21 May 2020 from 19:00-00:00
More details when available.
more details

35th Colchester Summer Real Ale and Cider Festival
Colchester Arts Centre, Church Street, Colchester
Wednesday 27th May 2020 to Saturday 30th May 2020

June

Thurrock Beer and Cider Festival
Civic Hall, Thurrock
Tuesday 2nd June 2010 to Saturday 6th June 2020
More details when available.

*** CANCELLED *** Braintree Real Ale Festival *** CANCELLED ***
Bocking Arts Centre, Braintree
Thursday 11th June 2020 to Saturday 13th June 2020.

Gibberd Garden Beer Festival
Gibberd Garden, Harlow
Saturday 20th June 2020 to Sunday 21st June 2020
More details when available.

July

*** CANCELLED *** Chelmsford Summer Beer & Cider Festival*** CANCELLED ***
Admirals Park, Chelmsford
Tuesday 7th July 2020 to Saturday 11th July 2020

Epping Ongar Railway Real Ale Festival
Epping Ongar Railway, Ongar Station, Ongar
Friday 17th July 2020 to Sunday 19th July 2020
More details when available.

August

September

Chappel Summer Beer Festival
East Anglian Railway Museum, Chappel, nr Colchester
Tuesday 8th September 2020 to Saturday 12th September 2020
More details when available.

October

South Woodham Ferrers Beer & Cider Festival
Village Hall, South Woodham Ferrers
Thursday 1st October 2020 to Saturday 3rd October 2020
More details when available.