Beer Festivals in Essex (and Tap Takeovers)

This page is continuously updated.

If you are looking for an Essex beer festival, you’ve come to the right place. This is a list of beer festivals in Essex both major CAMRA beer festivals and those held in pubs. Tap takeovers and the like are also covered.

If you know of a festival that you think should feature here, email me (essexrealale@gmail.com) or contact me via Twitter or Facebook.




January

Winter Beer Festival
Brentwood Brewing Co., Brentwood
Saturday 18th January 2020 11am to 4pm
“Its time to try some new Beers at our Tryanuary Event, part of our winter beer and food festival. There’s live music from JDS Acoustic Band plus Beery karaoke. Our friends from White Horse Coxtie Green will be along to sell some lovely winter warming food too. Its Free Entry all day and Free parking too.”
more details

13th Colchester Winter Beer Festival
Colchester Arts Centre, Church Street, Colchester CO1 1NF
Wednesday 29th January 2020 to Saturday 1st February 2020, midday to 10:30pm
100+ real ales, cask and some keykeg, Belgian beers, cider, English wine and food.
more details

February

Beer and Sausage Festival
The Live and Let Live, Millers Lane, Stanway, Colchester
Friday 7th February 2020 12:00 noon till Sunday 9th February 2020
19 real ales, 5 ciders and 20 flavours of sausages.
more details

4th Anniversary Ale and Cider Festival
The Maybush Inn, Farm Road, Great Oakley, Harwich CO12 5AL
Friday 7th February 2020 to Sunday 9th February 2020
Local and national ales to commemorate the saving of the pub and it’s re-opening as a co-operative.

Chelmsford Winter Beer Festival
King Edwards Grammar School, Chelmsford
More details when available.

Chappel Winter Beer Festival
East Anglian Railway Museum, Chappel nr Colchester
Friday 28th February 2020 and Saturday 29th February 2020
c70 real ales, cider, music and food.
more details

March

April

Beer and Chicken Festival
The Queen’s Head, Boreham
Thursday 9th April 2020 to Monday 13th April 2020
More details when available.

Maldon Beer and Cider Festival
Plume School, Maldon
Wednesday 15th April 2020 to Saturday 18th April 2020
More details when available.

Harwich Ale Trail
Various locations
Thursday 30th April 2020 to BH Monday 4th May 2020
The 5th event, this year coincides with the Mayflower 400 celebrations. Lots of pubs with a beer list to rule them all.

May

35th Colchester Summer Real Ale and Cider Festival
Colchester Arts Centre, Church Street, Colchester
Wednesday 27th May 2020 to Saturday 30th May 2020

June

Thurrock Beer and Cider Festival
Civic Hall, Thurrock
Tuesday 2nd June 2010 to Saturday 6th June 2020
More details when available.

Braintree Real Ale Festival
Bocking Arts Centre, Braintree
Thursday 11th June 2020 to Saturday 13th June 2020.
More details when available.

Gibberd Garden Beer Festival
Gibberd Garden, Harlow
Saturday 20th June 2020 to Sunday 21st June 2020
More details when available.

July

Chelmsford Summer Beer & Cider Festival
Admirals Park, Chelmsford
Tuesday 7th July 2020 to Saturday 11th July 2020
More details when available.

Epping Ongar Railway Real Ale Festival
Epping Ongar Railway, Ongar Station, Ongar
Friday 17th July 2020 to Sunday 19th July 2020
More details when available.

August

September

Chappel Summer Beer Festival
East Anglian Railway Museum, Chappel, nr Colchester
Tuesday 8th September 2020 to Saturday 12th September 2020
More details when available.

October

South Woodham Ferrers Beer & Cider Festival
Village Hall, South Woodham Ferrers
Thursday 1st October 2020 to Saturday 3rd October 2020
More details when available.